Fat people working out

One of the big reasons fat people, or people who have excess body fat as I like to say, don’t like working out at a gym is discomfort.

And they are 100% right. I know, I’ve been there. There are all sorts of reasons why now is not a good time to start and all those reasons are 100% valid. I know, I’ve been there. It took me two years to “gear up” enough to want to go to the gym. What really happened was that I became hopeless and desperate from inactivity. I didn’t “gear up”. I became more sedentary, more achy, heavier, and more hopeless.
The naked truth is this. Working out when you have excess body fat is a sticky, sweaty, blubbery embarrassing mess of a time. And you have to get over it – or at least through it. You can.
Let’s talk.

Sticky. You’re going to sweat. But honestly, I didn’t actually start sweating until I had been training for quite a while! My body wasn’t functioning very well and I couldn’t work up a sweat. I actually jumped up and down the first time I broke a sweat while lifting weights (an eccentric bicep curl, if you want to know)! So, you may be afraid that you’re going to be sticky and sweaty… But that may not actually be the case. And most likely not every time you go to work out. Your first step is building core strength so that you can workout.
Sweaty. (See previous paragraph.) …and – sweat is good.  Cleanses the body, gets excess heat away from the body and all that.  You don’t smell because you sweat… you smell (typically) because of what you eat. I have learned to consider sweat a badge of honor. But it’s not even that.  Some people sweat easily, others don’t.  Fortunately for all of us there are showers.
Blubbery. I hated the clothes I had to wear to the gym. My son’s old 2XL “Army of One” tent of a T-shirt that hugged my belly fat and my over-sized sweat pants. My tummy would get in the way of most everything. My belly and my boobs! Always in the way. But when I thought about it, that was the case no matter what I did! At least I was taking care of the problem and not just being irritated by it. Speaking of irate – for some reason fitness clothing manufacturers don’t seem to believe that overweight people need fitness clothing. WTF?

(Side note: I also berated many Victoria secrets sales staff due to the fact that they also didn’t carry my bra size. “All you DO is boobs… How can you not have a size?!!” )
Embarrassing. Frankly, I was simply embarrassed by my existence. It didn’t matter how or why I was so overweight. I felt that when other people looked at me, they judged me for being the way I was. I judged me. Why shouldn’t they?
I hate the next piece of advice, it’s not trite, it’s simple and it can be hard. Get over it. Nothing is going to fix your excess body fat but a healthier diet and movement. Learn to live (temporarily) in the sticky, sweaty, blubbery embarrassing mess.  Relish it. It won’t last long.

No, you don’t have to go to the gym. But your success rate is bound to be higher when you employ professionals. When you surround yourself with people with the same goals who, by the way, turn out to be very encouraging and are not judging you. (Revelation!)

HOW do you get over it? Work your way into a healthier existence. Take the footsteps through the mud, pay the price you would for any product or education. Growth is neither pain free nor cheap.
Making a change is nearly always uncomfortable. DO NOT LET THAT STOP YOU.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

I don’t have pictures of me working out because… (read above article, for heaven’s sake!).

bday_ac_BK2

before (I too, was eating cake)


obviously 'after'  winky face

‘after’
winky face

Leave a Reply

